top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaNi Vaato

#MyNameIs Nandini

Your name is your identity, so embrace it and please pronounce it right!

 

When traveling, visiting the gift shop to buy a souvenir is always a must, right? On top of that, how great would it be if that souvenir was personalized, say with your name? If your name is Kylie or Matthew, or any other common name, then you can easily buy a keychain with your name on it. But if your name is Nandini, then sorry you’re out of luck. Every time I visited any tourist attraction, I would always try to find my name on a keychain, and obviously it would never be there.

You see, my name is ethnic, foreign, too long, and too hard to pronounce, or so I thought for the longest time. I’m sure many other South-Asian individuals or people of color (POC) go through this same struggle.

Our names are quite literally our identity! So imagine how it feels when others make fun of that name, don’t take the time to learn how to properly pronounce it, or don’t embrace it in the consumer world. It truly can make someone feel alienated and simply not accepted.


Part of This Problem Comes From Within


As a kid, I never liked my name because I was the only kid that was different. All the other Indian kids had easy names, and then there was me. During attendance, every name for the most part would be so easy to pronounce, until the Patel’s section came. There’s so much anxiety when it comes to being an elementary school kid and having to correct your teacher on your name more than 3 times. My teachers were always willing to learn how to pronounce my name, but I never gave them the chance because I was simply too embarrassed.

The sad part is, I basically colonized my name. I went from NAN-Dee-Nee to NAAN-Di-Nee to finally the correct pronunciation of my name, which is NUN-Dhi-Nee.

It took me till middle school to finally accept my name and essentially my identity.

Acceptance


In the past, I’ve discussed my struggles with accepting my Indian heritage, and a large part of this has to do with my name. I remember there were some kids who would make fun of my name and say that it was too weird. I also remember the kind ones that were willing to learn and try until they got it right. In my mind, I thought everyone would laugh at me when I tried to correct them and that it wasn’t worth the effort. But, I couldn’t be more wrong. This goes to show that, within our culture, if we ourselves don’t correctly pronounce our names, then how can we expect others to do so? First, acceptance must come within ourselves. Nevertheless, there are going to be ignorant people that still will refuse to change their ways, but who cares. If you can come to accept your culture and your identity, then you shouldn’t need others to validate that for you.


Ignorant Man, Powerful Woman

Speaking of ignorance, just today, Sen. David Perdue referenced Sen. Kamala Harris as “KAH-mah-la, or Kah-MAH-la, or KAH-mah-la or Kamala-mala-mala, I don’t know, whatever.”

This isn’t me getting political, but his remarks are racist. His inability to be inclusive just as many other people in America and around the world is a large part of the problem. Since then, many people on Twitter have launched the campaign #MyNameIs in efforts of promoting their unique identities. It’s not okay to essentially make fun of someone’s name as this equivocates ridiculing their heritage, disrespecting their identity, and generating so many feelings of anxiety and hostility (Via Vox).


You’d Be Surprised with How Far Confidence Gets You!


My name is Nandini and it comes from a Sanskrit word which means “to rejoice or delight.” It is often linked to Goddess Parvati along with the Holy Cow - Nandi. My parents gave me this name because they wanted both of their daughters to relate to Lord Shiva and symbolize power and goodness.


My dad would always get annoyed with how I let others mispronounce my name, and rightfully so! I took such a unique and beautiful name and colonized it just so it was easy for others and got me out of uncomfortable situations. It truly should not be this way! Now as an adult, I always take the time to respectfully correct others when they mispronounce my name. It takes less than 10 seconds, leaves a lasting impression, and solidifies your cultural and personal identity. So, the next time, someone mispronounces your name, don’t be ashamed of your roots; rather, boldly speak up!

 

Written By: Nandini Patel

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page