top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaNi Vaato

Small Talk With Ashna Gray

We came across Ashna's platform on Tik Tok and were immediately enticed by her charisma and passion for mental health! We reached out to interview her, and it ended up being such an amazing conversation on our goals/passions, South Asian cultural elements, general stigmas, and so much more.

 

My name is Ashna Gray, and I am a 21-year old model hoping to pursue my education in medicine and become a future doctor. I recently graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign with a major in molecular and cellular biology. Modeling has been a passion of mine for a while, and I’ve been doing so for three years! Now I am beginning to expand and also starting to get into the influencer space.


What inspired you to pursue a career in medicine?


Medicine is something I have always been passionate about, but one thing that really pushed me to pursue medicine was the deteriorating health of my grandparents. I noticed how inaccessible the healthcare system was in India and the troubles my grandparents went through. Coming to the US allowed them to obtain better access to healthcare; I want to be able to help others in the same manner that they were helped. After seeing India’s healthcare system firsthand, I realized the importance of helping others and how fortunate we are to have the American healthcare system, despite its imperfections.


I believe that everyone deserves better as human beings, especially that equal opportunity to healthcare. One day I aspire to open a free clinic to fulfill this exact purpose! Choosing between paying rent or having healthcare access should never happen, so we need to do better to fix this.

What is one topic that you feel is not discussed as often and is pretty stigmatized in the SA community?


Mental Health! As kids, we were often yelled at for crying, and now as adults, we undermine the depths of our emotions. Due to the traditional environment that many of our parents grew up in, they were most likely never taught how to discuss mental health, and may struggle to initiate these important conversations. I also believe that India is still very behind in discussing the social and culture aspects revolving around mental health. I want to be able to use my platform in order to encourage people that it's okay to express yourself and be who you are. WE are FIRST generations kids and have a lot of different experiences than our parents.

By now, we’ve established that mental health is pretty stigmatized, but how can we as a generation work to resolve this issue?


The only way that our generation can revolve the small talk around this is if we begin to educate ourselves about our experiences and internalize basically. We need to realize the signs of deteriorating mental health such as constant chest tightness in certain moments that may be anxiety or a panic attack or feeling lonely all the time and never having joy could be a sign of depression. We ourselves have to work to first understand our own emotions.


Growing up as a first generation immigrant was definitely hard, especially in the early 2000’s. With the incident of 9/11, anyone with brown skin was attacked with racist and rude comments. In general, since we look different, people were less inclined to be friends with us. Culturally and even physically we just did not fit in! It’s important that as a society we work to get past this and accept each other beyond these differences. We definitely are starting to work towards that, but at the same time, we are becoming more polarized in certain matters, which makes achieving inclusivity more challenging.


Normalize the SMALL TALK!


I am finally able to say that my parents are my best friends; through quarantine, we’ve definitely gotten closer together! I wish more South-Asian first generation kids can say this, and I am glad I am able to. Discussion is a key factor in this aspect! When I sit at dinner with my family, we are able to openly discuss how our days went, instead of the typical questions of how my grades are, or what I want to do in the future educationally. Having these basic conversations has really helped destigmatize mental health in my household and has allowed us to be more in touch with our feelings!


Do you think body positivity is something that is also not discussed a lot in the SA community? And if so, how can we as a generation start the talk around this?


Taking a look at the Bollywood industry, there are awful standards to body image! Actors such as Tiger Shroff are depicted so unrealistically fit with abs and built bodies. Along with this, ideas on our bodies are so perpetuated by the aunties! We are too skinny, or too fat, or too unhealthy or too fit! There is never a between and an aspect of you are just right the way you are! I also notice on social media how many people will say they won't eat that day after seeing another person’s body, which starts to play a role in the culture of eating disorders as well.


This takes me onto the idea of how others also tell me like "oh you are so skinny let me give you some of my fat!" Hearing things like this not only hurts me but makes me realize that the other person is also hurting themselves by making comments on their own body! I think we need to start learning the aspect of being healthy and happy inside and out and showing more love towards one another, instead of putting each other down.

Have you received any negative comments from the SA community about being a model/influencer and doing this while wanting to become a doctor?


So far, I have luckily not received many negative comments. One of things I am always told is "oh you're pretty and smart!" It's crazy for me to think that people believe you can only have one or the other and it feels very misogynistic. Along with this, when I looked at the analytics, I noticed that my most liked posts were of me in either revealing clothing or tighter fitted wear. It was disappointing to see that people were only admiring me for the physical attraction. Yes, it is part of the job, but I wish people would see past a woman’s looks and not constantly sexualize us.


I get a lot of questions on how I am able to balance out being a model and studying to become a doctor. I believe that I would receive a lot more negativity if I had chosen to drop my studies and wished to become a full time social media influencer, which is unfortunate because you realize how judgmental people can be as soon as you go against the traditional norm.


What is one thing you cherish about the SA culture and why?

Honestly I love EVERYTHING. I think the South-Asian culture is beautiful in every aspect and there is so much richness to our culture. It is filled with so much history and has so many values that are embedded within it that I really cherish. One thing I love the most is the amount of respect that is ingrained within the Desi culture. We are always taught to respect and love everyone regardless of their age or status. I also love the aspect of giving and the humbleness that every individual holds within themselves. I definitely got that from my parents. The food and music add a great touch to it as well! Being Desi is beautiful.


What is some quick advice that you have for our viewers or our generation in general?

Comparison is the root of unhappiness.
Nobody else is going to be you.

Follow Ashna On:

Instagram, Tik Tok and Twitter: @ashnagray

Check out her Website!


Written By: Nandini Patel and Nishita Patel

736 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page